the taste of cliche

By strazz

July 2, 2008

Category: Daily work

3 Comments »

I walked down to the Taste of Chicago this afternoon for a couple of afternoon assignments.

I am not a big fan of the Taste. 

Maybe I am getting old and suburban but I am not quite sure what the appeal of eating overpriced food while sitting on a dirty street curb while thousands of hot and sweaty people with corn stuck in their teeth amble by. But what do I know, I like Taco Bell.

Anyways, the point of this entry is not to bash the Taste.

The point of this is to praise the cliche.

I take a lot of photos that are cliche. I like cliches. To tell the truth, I really only like cliche photos that I make. Other photographers’ cliches don’t interest me much.

One of my pet peeves is when shooters photograph reflections or shadows on the ground and then flip the image over so it looks right side up. 

However when I do it, I think it’s brilliant.

I did it today.

While walking back to the Tribune Tower on Michigan Avenue, I passed by Chicago’s Photo Cliche Capital- Millenium Park.

There must be millions of images taken every year at Millennium Park. Most of them are of two things- Cloud Gate, more commonly known as The Bean, ( Here is a photo of The Bean that I took back in 2006) and the Crown Fountain.

They both are super cool and both are very photogenic.

Today while passing the Crown Fountain, I couldn’t help stopping for a bit to shoot the reflection of the projected face on the wet ground. Later while editing the hundred of so snaps I took, I was drawn to one of the stranger images. One that sorta looks like how I feel after a night of celebrating.

After studying it for awhile, I decided that it looked better upside down. Of course, I never would turn this image in for publication since it is a visual lie but there is something about it that I really like. 

Something besides the fact that I created it.

3 Responses to “the taste of cliche”

  1. “One of my pet peeves is when shooters photograph reflections or shadows on the ground and then flip the image over so it looks right side up.

    However when I do it, I think it’s brilliant.”

    LOL. You’ve just become my new favorite photographer 🙂

  2. Long live the cliche! Nice photo.

  3. Very, very nice bro … loves it!

Leave a Reply

