the fourth at the circle

I spent the 4th of July at the new homestead with the family.

The six of us headed over to the big grass circle that is in the middle of our subdivision to watch the fireworks with our new neighbors.

I photographed all the expected photos- silly dressed up kids, sparkler time exposures, jumping rope with a string of glow necklaces, fireworks over onlookers but for some reason my favorite pic of the night was from before anything happened.

On the left is my stepdaughter Sophie getting a last minute warning from her mom about sparkler safety. My son Cameron is laying down with the neighbor’s dog. My daughter Betsy is in the back with her friend Rebecca on the far right. The other girl is Miranda, a friend of Rebecca’s sister Amanda.

Heartland Circle in Yorkville is a super friendly neighborhood. I have met twice as many neighbors in my first two weeks here than at my last three residences combined.

Leave a Reply

