zoned out

By strazz

July 7, 2008

Category: Sports

Leave a Comment »

I photographed my first Arena League Football game on Sunday.

I got the assignment late so I didn’t arrive at the All State Arena until game time. I had no idea what the protocol was for AFL shooting positions so I was more than mildly surprised when a Chicago Rush media person said that I could shoot from the end zone. Not from behind the end zone but in the end zone.

I thought this was amazing until Grand Rapids scored a touchdown in the end zone that I was in and everyone and their brother ran out in front of me. 

The Rush lost yesterday’s divisional round playoff game so this might be my last AFL game for awhile but hopefully next year I will get another crack at it because it is a crazy sport and quite photo friendly.

Leave a Reply

