greetings from beijing

By strazz

August 2, 2008

Category: Sports

1 Comment »

I arrived in China Saturday afternoon in advance of the 2008 Olympic Games.

I was picked up at the airport by my good friends and colleagues Sol Neelman and Kevin German.

The first stop was a ride to my room at the Huiyuan Media Village, it took a bit longer than expected because I accidentally went to the wrong media village. (Oops!). Once I got to the correct place, I was thrilled with my accommodations, a spacious suite with a view of the Olympic Stadium aka The Bird’s Nest.

At my first Summer Games in Athens, I stayed at a hotel that was 45 minutes from the Main Press Center and the Olympic Stadium. This time, I am right on top of it. What a luxury to be able to walk to work instead of going through the hassles of the Olympic bus system.

After that the three of us, aimlessly wandered around the city ending up at Tiananmen Square where we watched the lowering of the flag and changing of the guard.

Beijing is a sprawling city and I doubt that I will get to see much of it but what I have seen so far is mighty impressive.

The weather today was a tad warm but perfectly clear with not a bit of smog.

At some point, I will be switching over to a photo journal/blog on chicagotribune.com.

I will let you all know when that happens if you care to stop by.

One Response to “greetings from beijing”

  1. You’re a pretty luck guy, I wish I could be there too!
    Keep up the good work and let us hear from you!

Leave a Reply

