opening day

I took a day of from hanging with the Mrs. to shoot the Chicago Bears’ home opener.

The local boys choked away a 2nd half lead for the second week in row falling yesterday to Tampa 27-24 in overtime and losing at Carolina the week before.

My role as part of a three man team was to plant myself in the north end zone and cover everything that came my way. Most photographers would consider this “backlit” vantage point to be less desirable than the sunlit side but I heartily disagree.

That being said, I didn’t get anything great from Sunday’s game. Maybe I feel that way because I am coming off the Olympics where every hour brings another portfolio-caliber image.

The play of the game was an unnecessary roughing penalty by Charles Tillman in the opposite end zone. I never even saw the infraction let alone get a photo of it. My co-worker Jim Prisching got a sweet shot of the penalty. You can see it here on the Chicago Tribune front page.

The best I could do was get Tillman walking off the field after the Buc’s game-winning field goal. It ran on the front of the sports section and is here in the “photographers’ favorites” gallery on chicagotribune.com.

I guess my favorite image of the day was before the game even started. It’s nothing groundbreaking but I actually like it for the positioning of the photographers more than for Brian Urlacher’s flag-waving. My instinct was to try to eliminate the other shooters from the frame but like I mentioned in a previous post I am starting to enjoy showing reality instead of a sanitized perfected version of the same.

3 Responses to “opening day”

  1. I spent 15 years covering the PGA Tour for magazines, and there are a few places on tour that we would hang out to shoot stock. The best ones were always backlit. The all time best had to be the 18th tee at Muirfield Village in Dublin Ohio. Backlit and the ground drops off behind the tee to the 15th fairway that runs behind it. So the background was a stand of tall trees about 70 yards away on the other side of 15. You could take your pick, tight waste up or full length at impact. It was sweet!

    Backlit is so underrated.

  2. I live in northern indiana. I just found your blog and love it. I seen your project about “common ground”. LOVED it so much. Just wanted to say hi and I will be following your blog for sure.

  3. As an Australia-based Bears fan, I found your blog on google and read a few of your other Bears posts.
    I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

Leave a Reply

