shooting gallery

By strazz

October 9, 2008

Category: Sports

1 Comment »

In 2006, I got clocked in the side of the head by a baseball while transmitting photos from the back of the photo dugout at US Cellular Field.

Ever since then I have been fairly gun shy when it comes to shooting baseball games.

When I arrived at my photo position at Tropicana Field in St. Pete for game 1 of the ALDS my first thought was, “I’m going to die!” My spot was behind a temporary cement barrier that was constructed facing home plate just past the third base coach’s box.

Luckily, no line drives came at me only a couple hard grounders.

Here is my reaction to one of those grounders courtesy of James Borchuck of the St. Petersburg Times.

When I arrived at “The Trop” for Game 2, this photo was taped up on the wall in the photo work room.

One Response to “shooting gallery”

  1. Ahh, it’s for the love of the game!

Leave a Reply

