the day after

I was sent out to get Inauguration clean up photos on Wednesday and ended up at the US Capitol, a place I got nowhere near on Tuesday. As I was about to leave, I spotted a woman kneeling. She was incredibly emotional and then started to pray. I had plenty of time to work the situation as she prayed for a good 10 minutes, got up and then went back and prayed some more. Sometimes when I have that much time to work a scene, I struggle with the best angle. I made more creative shots but here is one of the more straight forward.

This is the caption I wrote to go with the photo-

“Oh, thank the Lord. Oh, thank the Lord,” repeats Hester Moore of Memphis, Tennessee as she kneels in front of the US Capitol 24 hours after Barack Obama was sworn in as the 44th President of the United States. Moore was praying to honor Obama and her grandmother Pinkie Carter who died in 1991 at the age of 105 after living a life where she never voted.

One Response to “the day after”

  1. Hey Scott,

    Nice images.
    It was nice to run into you on the mall. I was seeing a lot of photographers but not one I knew.
    Let me know when you are back and have some time. I would love for you to look over my selects and get your opinion.

    Safe travels.

    Pete

Leave a Reply

