a final powder

During the Chicago Bulls’ dynasty in the 1990s, Michael Jordan would ritualistically clap talcum powder, or is it resin powder?, on announcer Johnny “Red” Kerr before each game.

Before heading to the United Center yesterday for the Bulls’ game and Kerr tribute, one of my non-sports fan photo editors was trying to figure out who Kerr was. I told him that he was the guy that Michael Jordan used to clap powder on. 

After I said that, I thought, wouldn’t it be cool if Jordan did that one final time at tonight’s tribute.

My premonition came true when, before addressing Kerr, MJ strolled over and dusted Kerr. 

This isn’t the most compositionally pleasing image but I was trying to avoid the previously mentioned team photographer and his green plaid shirt (bottom right of frame) but it still was my favorite image of a very touching ceremony.

Leave a Reply

