sleep time at the shelter

As I have continued to work on my homeless soccer story, I have been trying to shoot more of the guys off field activities.

I have enjoyed photographing their matches but to tell the whole story I know that I have to go beyond the games.

Tuesday night after a tough 3-1 decision, I followed the team back to Hesed House to document them getting ready for bed.

I have been hesitant to shoot the sleeping area mostly because the majority of the men there aren’t part of the team and I don’t want them to think that I am trying to exploit their situation for pictures.

I asked a couple of the players if I could shoot them at bed time and one of the guys who agreed, Matthew Finley, is pictured above.

The next step is to spend some time during the day out into the community with a  player or two.

Leave a Reply

