blue river

I recently visited the Apostolic Church of God on Chicago’s south side.

The occasion was the National Urban League’s State of the Urban League Address that kicked off their national convenetion.

As I arrived in a back entrance, I came upon the church’s 150+ plus member sanctuary choir as they all prayed before their participation in the event.

It was a pretty cool sight seeing hundreds of blue gowns crowded into a hallway.

I made several shots of the gathering but I wasn’t able to get the proper angle to capture the scene in an effective way.

Later, as I waited in the balcony to make an overall while Illinois Governor Quinn spoke, the choir processed into the service.

I made several photos at a normal shutter speed but then decided to play around with a half second exposure to accentuate the flow of the procession.

Here is one of those attempts.

© 2009 Chicago Tribune/Scott Strazzante

6 Responses to “blue river”

  1. Love it! I tried to do something similar during Main East’s graduation back in June, but they were way way way too spaced out.

  2. Very nice!

  3. That is SWEET!

    Hey Scott, did you see my email from a couple of days ago?

    Welcome home.

  4. That’s a nice payday for gambling with a slow shutter. Sweet photo.

  5. I don’t get it….. I mean, I try creative stuff and it looks like I am TRYING TOO HARD to be artistic. You do it and it just works. Sigh. At least I can have the chance to enjoy it when other people can get it to work well.

Leave a Reply

