I don’t have a clue where Milton Bradley is?

By strazz

August 27, 2009

Category: Sports

7 Comments »

My job Wednesday night was to make a photo of Cubs’ mercurial outfielder Milton Bradley. The image needed to be something moody showing the tension that has built up between Bradley and the fans in Wrigley Field during the Cubs’ August slump.

Instead of an action photo, I figured that I would hang out by the Cubs’ dugout before the game and try to get something different.

My hope was some sort of image of a serious Bradley in the dugout with a representative fan in the background.

As I waited on the field by the dugout tunnel from the club house, I spied Alfonso Soriano, then Derrek Lee came out followed by Aramis Ramirez, Koyie Hill, Ryan Theriot and Lou Piniella. Soriano went back into the clubhouse and came out again. Next were Jeff Baker and Kosuke Fukudome. Starting pitcher Rich Harden finished his warm-up, the National Anthem was sung and still no sign of Bradley.

At this point, I am really not supposed to be standing by the dugout but Cubs’ team photographer Steve Green gave me the OK as long as I didn’t get in the way.

A minute before game time, the Cubs’ starters one by one ran out to position and still no Bradley.

Steve Green and I looked at each other perplexed.

Finally, Bradley casually strolled out of the club house with a handful of bats. He started putting them into the rack when he looked up and realized that the game was about to start.

As his sheepish grin turned to a wide smile, Bradley ran by me out to his position in right field.

The photographer strikes out.

©2009 Chicago Tribune/ Scott Strazzante

7 Responses to “I don’t have a clue where Milton Bradley is?”

  1. Looks like you failed….wink wink

  2. I want your job. 🙂

  3. Great story to go along with the image.

  4. he must not get paid enough to show up to work on time.

  5. Dude, Bone up and realize you are not a SPORTS Photographer. Never have been. I have seen your work and it’s more a sports artist, not really a sports photographer. Keep shooting the art and leave the real sports to the big boys that can bring back the moments

    • Thank you for the comment John! You are exactly correct. I don’t know why I ever thought I could compete with the big boys.
      I don’t think I will ever be able to master the skill of prefocusing on second base and then while sitting on my ass holding down a button.
      It boggles my mind how those big boys can do that.
      I will be turning in my 400mm lens promptly Monday morning and dusting off my tilt shift lens and my Holgaroid in preparation for the upcoming NFL season.

  6. how totally random. a friend and i were just talking about what it means to “bone up” (to study or prepare for an exam). good stuff, though not sure how it’s appropriate here.

    have you recovered from this cutting critique yet scott?

Leave a Reply

