the angry bear

In “Blades of Glory”, Will Ferrell, as Chazz Michael Michaels, has a scene where he is performing in a kids’ ice show and he is so drunk, he vomits inside a mascot head.

Well, every time I have been at Wrigley Field this season, I have crossed paths with unauthorized mascot Billy Cub. When I see Billy, I imagine that there is a very drunk Will Ferrell inside.

Billy carries around a small cooler with the word tips written on it. I am not sure why anyone would tip him since I have never seen him do anything except taunt dogs, scare babies and hold his hand in front of people trying to take his photo.

I realized tonight that he must have been told by the Cubs to stay off Wrigley Field property because when he is not standing across the street in front of the Cubby Bear bar, he is on the street just inches away from the sidewalk surrounding the ball park.

That being said, Billy Cub entertains me. The world can’t have enough surly furries.

©2009 Chicago Tribune/ Scott Strazzante

Leave a Reply

