starting to look back

There is a noticeable chill in the air here in Chicago.

The weather is starting to change and I have started to mentally prepare myself for Winter.

While most people associate the end of a year with the holidays or snow or football playoffs, I lamely associate it with photo contests.

There still is a ton of 2009 left but I have had a lot of down time lately, most of it by my wife’s hospital bed as she recovers from a complication from her bladder cancer surgery a year ago. So, I have used part of the time to organize some of my favorite images and rethink what I liked earlier in the year.

One example is from January 25th. On that night, I shot the 1500th and final show of the musical “Wicked” in Chicago. I was the only photographer present when the curtain came down and the emotion flowed from the cast members.

Originally, I posted this image (click HERE) as my favorite but now I prefer the one above.

Over the next three months when I have nothing better to post, I will run through some of my 2009 work and ask for your feedback.

©2009 Chicago Tribune/ Scott Strazzante

9 Responses to “starting to look back”

  1. bladder cancer surgery???? well that suuuckkkkssss!! Sorry you both have to deal with that garbage!! We would love to meet you….have been following you…not a crazed fan….wh shoot for a very small paper with en even smaller budget….do you go to Imaging USA?

  2. so jealous you shot a broadway show!🙂

  3. I like this one more than the Jan picutre…but it’s close (like a 55/45 sort of close..)
    Get well wishes to your wife!

  4. Hey Scott, best wishes for a speedy recovery to your wife. I think it is a really good idea to go back and look at things again after stepping away for a while. All I know is that you should keep then coming, you are a very gifted shooter who inspires so many people. Take care.

  5. This photo rocks. I like the look you captured on her face. On my computer her face is a tad dark. I’m sure you will do your share of winning in 2009. I might enter some Congo pictures if I get it together.

  6. Wops I hit it before I got this out. I’m sorry about what your wife is going through. I understand how difficult it is to see someone you love suffer and just wonder everyday if she is going to make it. But you say the word “recover” and this sounds full of hope. God is always nearby. Peace be yours Scott. Sherrlyn Borkgren

  7. I like this photo much better. The lighting on the faces makes the emotions clearer to see, and there is so much more going on in this photo that is in focus or nearly so. I’m so sorry to hear about your wife, but I agree that your words are full of hope, and that’s a good thing. In fact, it’s half the battle. God’s peace be on your home, Scott.

  8. I also like the darker background in this photo better than the light background in the other. It gives more contrast, and in another way symbolizes an end to something grand, and a sorrow. Overall, it’s a more dramatic photo.

  9. wow, i love this image, so powerful, completely candid – stunning❤

Leave a Reply

