the best laid plans of mice and marathons

By strazz

October 11, 2009

Category: Sports

10 Comments »

When I decided to run the Chicago Marathon, I figured that I would take advantage of the situation by bringing along a camera.

I didn’t want to lug my huge camera so I borrowed a high end point and shoot from the Tribune photo closet.

Back in May, after running a half marathon in Indianapolis, I saw a multimedia piece by Indy Star shooter Matt Kryger. Kryger walked the race course and put the 13.2 miles of photos into a 4 minute show with face-paced music. It was highly entertaining so I decided to steal his idea.

Well, the one thing that I didn’t realize was that on a cold morning like today, the battery in the point and shoot wasn’t up for 5 hours of work.

In fact, it only made it 9 miles. Oops!

The worst part was after the battery failure, I still had to carry the camera for 17 miles. Ugh!

At least for a bit of closure, I was able to squeeze two frames off at the finish line.

CLICK HERE to see the truncated marathon multimedia piece.

10 Responses to “the best laid plans of mice and marathons”

  1. Love the pics! And congrats on finishing the marathon! 🙂

  2. Looks like you got the gist of it! Congrats!

  3. “Prepare to meet thy God.” Just what every runner wants to hear when they hit the wall. (Great seeing you… send you an image or two soon.)

  4. As usual, pretty nice work, Scott. Keep it up!

  5. Scott thank you for these photos and the montage you put together. All of us at BCAN wish the best for you and Anna.

  6. I did the same thing at the Boston Marathon in 2008 and my battery died at mile 17, about a half mile before Heartbreak Hill, (which is about the same time I did..). Check it out here…http://www.deseretnews.com/photo/slideshow/1,5587,81,00.html

  7. Congrats on finishing the race and doing it for Anna. As a member of the BCAN On-line community Anna has a special place with all of us. Next year she’ll beat you to the finish and you can take your time taking some more great pictures.

    Best wishes,
    Battle on,
    JerseyGuy

  8. Loved the slide show. Hope your wife is doing better!

  9. Great to know you were there and ran for Anna. Next year Anna will be the first place winner!!

Leave a Reply

