vincent in red

Near the end of my commute to the Tribune Tower, I turn off of Lower Wacker Drive onto Lower Michigan Avenue, cross over the Chicago River and arrive at work.

At the corner of Lower Wacker and Michigan, there is a stop light that illuminates pedestrians as they wait to cross the street.

Last night while walking to Orchestra Hall for an assignment, I saw a broken down taxi at the light. For some reason, that intrigued me, so I decided to wait for some people to walk by so I could photograph them bathed in the light from the traffic signal.

I spied a woman with an umbrella crossing the bridge. As she approached the corner, I framed the scene when all of a sudden Vincent Falk in a fantabulous red velvet suit came across the street.

Vincent is a former photo subject of mine and a well known figure in downtown Chicago.

Vincent is a nearly blind computer programmer for Cook County who is better known for his crazy suits and his penchant for dancing on Chicago River bridges as tour boats pass below him.

If you get a chance, take a peek at “Vincent, A Life in Color”, an award-winning documentary that Jennifer Burns did on Mr. Falk.

©2009 Scott Strazzante/ Chicago Tribune

One Response to “vincent in red”

  1. Cool shot. I love him! His dancing always makes me smile when I see him after the ch 7 news. 🙂

Leave a Reply

