foggy night

By strazz

November 5, 2009

Category: Sports

7 Comments »

As my daily work continues to be for stories that won’t be published for awhile, I will once again dip into the past.

Today’s oldie is from the Winter Olympics in Torino in February 2006.

My assignment in Italy was to stay in the mountains and work the alpine events. I shot numerous sports for the first time and despite the cold weather and difficult working conditions, I had a fabulous time.

Everyday at an Olympics is jam-packed with activity and one rarely has any off time. Late in the Games, while the women’s figure skating short program was going on down in the city, I was given the option of taking the night off or going out and shooting something that I wanted to photograph.

I chose to go to ski jumping and play.

It was  a joy to not have deadline pressure and to not have to concentrate on the winners and losers.

I exhausted my entire bag of tricks that foggy night. I silhouetted, panned, zoomed shot super tight and incredibly loose and finally waded into the treees in waist deep snow to make this image.

I won’t be going to Vancouver in 2010 but I can’t wait to see the images that are created.

©2006 Scott Strazzante/ Chicago Tribune

 

 

7 Responses to “foggy night”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by DuncanKinney, Scott Strazzante. Scott Strazzante said: http://bit.ly/3x0NqE http://bit.ly/3uGNdR […]

  2. I looked at this picture a long time before I saw the ski-jumper. Cool!

  3. i know you like that shot, scott. i do too. i remember this picture in the paper. maybe it ran in the magazine? which was it?

    • Mike, I know that it didn’t run the next day but I think it might have run in an Olympics wrap-up section at the end of the Games. It also might have been published in the year end best of Tribune photos in the Sunday Magazine.

  4. yep. that was it. i remember it from the year-end mag. super cool.

  5. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by StrazzPOY: http://bit.ly/3x0NqE http://bit.ly/3uGNdR

Leave a Reply

