beyond borders

Last week, I saw a cool image by Tribune staffer Phil Velasquez.

Shot from street level, Phil captured ballet dancers practicing on the 3rd floor of the new Joffrey Ballet studio on State Street in Chicago’s Loop.

I liked the photo but didn’t think any more of it until I was killing time last night in Borders before shooting the dress rehearsal of Banana Shpeel across the street at the Chicago Theatre.

As I arrived at the Photography section, I glanced out the window and saw dancers.

I bypassed the books and started shooting.

©2009 Scott Strazzante/Chicago Tribune

3 Responses to “beyond borders”

  1. I like it. I’m trying to see if I can read what is on the wall of the second floor.

    • Lisa, the 1st and second floors of the building are a Loehmann’s department store. The only words I can make out are Loehmann’s, dragged and addiction. You fill in the blanks.

  2. That makes the mix even better.

Leave a Reply

