silent white, holy crap

I witnessed a very odd scene yesterday.

I was sent to Thomson, a town of 600, in northwest Illinois near the Iowa border.

The reason for the trip was because President Obama wants the Federal Government to buy the Thomson Correctional Center in order to house Guatanamo detainees and possible hold military tribunals.

There wasn’t much going on in Thomson yesterday except for an invasion of media members.

I spent the afternoon with Tribune reporter Joel Hood. We visited Dawn the dog groomer, Todd the bait shop owner and Duke the village president. While standing outside the village hall as Duke was being interviewed by a national news outlet, I turned around and glanced down Main Street.

About a block down, I saw a man dressed in all white. I first thought he was wearing a full length rain poncho. He seemed to be pacing back and forth. I decided to investigate.

By this point, the man had started walking west away from downtown. I caught up to him and fired off about ten frames trying to include as much of Main Street in the image as I could. The man was wearing a white robe with a white turban, a fake Santa Claus beard and a pair of sunglasses.

I asked him his name. No response. I asked if he was protesting the prison deal. No response. I asked he he had anything to say. No response. He just kept walking while holding a cell phone to his ear. He finally disappeared down a street.

I think the people of Western Illinois need some classes on how to protest.

©2009 Scott Strazzante/ Chicago Tribune

3 Responses to “silent white, holy crap”

  1. Love your Shooting from the Hip stuff, Scott!

  2. I’ve been to that town, and there is a whole lotta nothing going on! Great photo.

  3. Al-qaeda in the house??

Leave a Reply

