jannah

I have been working on a project at a south side high school for a couple of months now.

The story will be published later in January so I won’t be able to share any images until then.

This evening I followed one of my subjects home from school and made some images of her life outside the classroom.

I doubt that these photos will be used for the story but as you all probably know by now, I never turn down an opportunity to photograph daily life especially daily life on the South side, which is far and away my favorite part of Chicagoland.

While at the student’s home, I found out that her mother is Muslim and she is raising her three-year-old daughter Jannah to follow the religion. Today the mother and daughter performed salaat.

I tried to work my subject into the photos but it didn’t quite come together properly.

However, I did get this blog-worthy photo of Jannah when right after prayers she went on the computer to sing along with Elmo.

©2010 Scott Strazzante/ Chicago Tribune

Leave a Reply

