floor exercise

By strazz

January 21, 2010

Category: Sports

8 Comments »

I used to shoot every basketball game from the baseline with the majority of my best shots being vertical images of “elbows and armpits”.

That is, every photo would be two players reaching for a rebound or one extending for a dunk or lay up as the other defends.

Now, unless it is some spectacular play, I find myself turning in a majority of horizontal floor battles.

I have no idea if my sports department cares because I never once have gotten any kind of feedback from them on their preferences.

I guess I will go along entertaining myself until I hear otherwise.

©2010 Scott Strazzante/ Chicago Tribune

8 Responses to “floor exercise”

  1. I am amazed by your high school basketball images. The lighting in school gyms can be very poor at times making it difficult to shoot action shots. Any tips on how you get such sharp images in these conditions would be very appreciated. It’s the one area in sports photography that I struggle with.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Scott Strazzante and Holly Haviland, larry preece . larry preece said: floor exercise « Blog Archive « shooting from the hip: floor exercise. By: strazz. Jan 21 2010. Category: Sports ·… http://bit.ly/6spnnv […]

  3. I know the feeling Scott. Anymore I always go Horizontal when shooting cross-court. BTW I’ve been “stealing” your wide angle between the legs shot a few times this season. You’re a true inspiration.🙂

  4. Most of the scuffle action and desperation comes at that moment. It’s an opportunity for the players to get a “freebie” and they probably feel worse afterwards if they miss it. Maybe all that emotion is what makes those pictures more interesting to you…🙂

Leave a Reply

