IV, 3-2

By strazz

February 4, 2010

Category: Sports

4 Comments »

If you have been reading this blog for any length of time, you probably have realized that I am not really into the technical side of photography.

Over the years, I have tried very hard to avoid the nauseating Canon vs. Nikon debates, have never had a clue to how many megapixels that my camera shoots at and would much rather just set the camera on manual and get to work.

At the same time, I have been incredibly spoiled.

Being a sports shooter at the Chicago Tribune gives me access to the best cameras and fastest lenses.

The other day, I was handed a new Canon Mark IV and last night took it for a spin during the Chicago Blackhawks’ 3-2 loss to the St. Louis Blues.

I must admit, it is a beautiful camera.

For me, being a shooter who loves to shoot in very dark places with no flash, the ability to shoot to iso 12,800 is a wonderful thing.

As for last night Hawks’ game, there wasn’t a huge difference in quality between my Mark III and IV although the colors seemed a bit more vibrant. The auto focus worked great but I never had any trouble with the Mark IIIs except for my usual user errors.

The big test will be my first attempt to shoot with the camera in available darkness.

©2010 Scott Strazzante/ Chicago Tribune

4 Responses to “IV, 3-2”

  1. I just got a Canon 7D and it’s ISO is expandable up to 12,800. I haven’t used it yet but I understand the quality is pretty bad. But I love the 7D and wish I (or the school paper I work for) could afford a MK IV…

    • I wouldn’t ever use ISO 12,800 unless you were going for some kind of artistic Picaso look. Maybe it could be useful in black and white… Its pretty decent in the ISO3200-4000 end, I’m afraid to go too much higher. It is a 1.6x crop😦

  2. I got to shoot with a Mark III for a few hours this weekend. I loved it! Picking one up with my tax return in a few weeks. Someday when I grow up (or get a job as a photographer full-time) I’ll replace my 7D with the 1D Mark IV.

  3. Love Boland’s intensity….
    Great shot! Go Hawks!!

Leave a Reply

