R.I.P. Eli

By strazz

April 3, 2010

Category: home life

4 Comments »

Eli Konjevich, my mother Karen’s husband of twenty years passed away last Wednesday.

Eli was an awesome guy.

For years and years, Eli was the owner of Poor Eli’s, a working class bar across from the site of the long gone Wisconsin Steel plant on Torrence Avenue in Chicago’s South Deering neighborhood.

Over the years, I attended hundreds of sporting events with Eli.

He had connections everywhere.

I remember going to Hawks’ games at the old Chicago Stadium with him.

We would pull in the parking lot and a man would park Eli’s car as he slipped him a twenty. We would then enjoy the game from our seats on the glass. After the game we would head outside where Eli’s car would be waiting all warmed up and ready to go.

There are hundreds of other great Eli stories that were told at his wake yesterday but I will save those for another day.

For now, rest in peace Eli!

You will be missed.

©2010 Scott Strazzante

4 Responses to “R.I.P. Eli”

  1. I’m sorry to hear these news, Scott. My heartfelt condolences!

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  3. I’m sorry too Scott, for you and your mom. What wonderful memories you must have had with him.

  4. sorry to hear the news. best to you and the family…

Leave a Reply

