30 seconds plus 30 seconds equals one stupid idea

I enjoy shooting concerts although I probably only do them 4 or 5 times a year.

One of the things that amuses me the most is the stipulations that the recording artists put on us shooters.

The Taylor Swift show was no exception. In fact, it probably had the most convoluted and ridiculous shooting restriction yet.

As I arrived at the show, I was told that I would be allowed to shoot the first 30 seconds of the first song and then the first 30 seconds of the second song. Huh?

Why not just the first minute of the first song and call it a night?

Anyways, I went along with the plan and after a 3-minute video presentation of Taylor Swift’s childhood, which ended, what, last week?, I began shooting the first 30 seconds of song one. I stopped after a half minute and dutifully waited for song number 2.

Swift stopped singing and then talked to the crowd for a short while. She then began to sing again and I along with the other photogs started photographing again. All of a sudden, a woman runs over and tells us that this was still the first song. Oops!

This is where I stuck it to the man, errr, teenage girl. One of the illegal photos that I took during the second half of the first song appeared in yesterday’s Tribune. Scandalous!

I hope I don’t get blacklisted from shooting Taylor Swift again.

By the way, you want to know about the first 30 seconds of song number 2? Boring!

One Response to “30 seconds plus 30 seconds equals one stupid idea”

Leave a comment