night light

By strazz

June 22, 2009

Category: Daily work

7 Comments »

For a good chunk of my first 7 years at the Chicago Tribune, I worked the day shift.

That translated to the majority of my assignments being between the hours of 9am and 3pm, aka the worst light of the day.

I have never been a huge fan of shooting with the sun at my back preferring the back lit side when possible.

However, there is one type of light that I like even more than back light- artificial light.

Now that I am on the 3pm to 11pm shift, I go out of my way to find crazy night light on the streets of Chicago.

This evening, after shooting a concert in MIllennium Park, I staked out an illuminated city map and shot everyone who stopped by for directions.

7 Responses to “night light”

  1. Very nice. I’m way more comfortable shooting in extremely dark locations than I am in the daylight. And there’s so much light around if you just look for it, as you did here.

  2. Love it!
    specs?
    f?
    iso?
    tripod?

  3. I’m inspired, great photo Scott.

  4. […] in Actual Pictures Love this image by Scott Strazzante of the Chicago Tribune. Great light is everywhere … now I want to stalk downtown on a Friday. « […]

Leave a comment